Tutorial 009: Chat and connections

Communicate

You are going to need to communicate in order to remain productive. Many times you will be communicating about your content. It’s easiest to keep that conversation going when you don’t need to move away from your content or if you can share your content directly in the same system you are using to work with it.

For this, you are going to need a few connections.

Connections

When connected with another user, you may share content with each other and use a chat window to message each other directly. This “connection” status must be accepted by both users.

The connected user will appear in your chat menu, which is at the bottom left of your screen.

When you share or send a copy of an item to that user, their display name will have a green background.

A Consol user that you are not connected to will display yellow. People that have not signed up with Consol will display light gray; you will be asked to invite these people to sign up if you try to share items with them.

A connected user will display as a connection item in the Connections category of your People default workspace.

By default you are not connected with any users. You will need to know the user’s display name or email and go through a connection request before you are fully connected with another user; there are two ways to start this.

  1. Search for the user’s display name or email using the search field. Click on the correct user shown in the list view. Click on the “Request Connection” button to the right. The user will receive the request in his or her People default workspace.
  2. Sharing an item with a non-connected user will initiate the connection request sequence. The request will show in his or her People default workspace—upon acceptance and subscription to Consol, the non-connected user will receive your item.

The counter on your “People” default workspace shows the number of requests that other users have sent you. If there isn’t a number, then no requests are waiting for you. If a request is waiting, open the connections category of the “People” default workspace and then open the pending request. Accept it by clicking “Accept Request.”

This page will display personal information about the user. At the bottom are the “Disconnect” and “Block User” buttons.

The “Disconnect” button ends the connection. The “Block User” button prevents all correspondence with that user, if you find it necessary. A blocked user is unable to share items, send item copies, or request a connection with you. This button is accessible when you use the search field to find the user as well.

Chat

The chat menu is at the bottom left.

You can show/hide the menu by clicking on the “Chat” button.

When open, the chat menu will display all of your connections and their availability. Their availability indicators are the same as yours, which is below the chat list.

Here you can set your availability to online (green), away (yellow), busy (red), or offline (grey).

Click on one of the connections to open a chat window (or go add a connection first if you do not have any).

The header of the window dipays the username, user avatar, and availability of the connected user. There’s the minimize and close buttons too.

Below this is the body of the chat, which shows all the messages you have sent back and forth.

Click on the field at the bottom to compose a message, and hit ENTER when you are finished. The user will receive your chat message immediately.

Multiple chat windows can be open at the same time, but if you open too many, some of the windows will hide themselves to make room. Just close a window or two and the hidden ones will reappear.

You’ve got connections

Well, we hope you do, because working with others is more fun. If you are communicating with other Consol users, you are going to be sending content and information back and forth. Over time you will probably acquire a lot of content, by your own creation and from others sharing their content with you.

The default workspaces are your tools for content and connection management. Incoming, outgoing, and shared items will all collect there. Look to Tutorial 10: Default workspaces for the details on how to use these workspaces.