Tutorial 005: Send copies and sharing

Interconnectivity

From time to time, you may need to share collaborate on content with other Consol users. Consol gives you the freedom to fluidly send copies or work on the same item with others. The “Send Copy” and “Share” fields, which allow you to do these things, are at the bottom of each item’s pageview.

What are the differences between sending copies and sharing?

Send copy of this

Sending a copy will send a duplicate of your item to the connections (other Consol users) that you specify. This action duplicates the current state of the item—the one displayed in the pageview—as you send it to your connection(s). Any changes you make to the original after sending a copy will not show up in the other Consol user’s copy. Type the name or email of a connected user in the input field and click on the connection you want to send a copy to.

The list of connections will queue underneath the input field. You may send the copy to multiple users at the same time. When you are done adding users, click the “Send” button. If you make a mistake, or change your mind, click the “×” on the user icon to remove a person from the queue.

Note: once a copy has been sent it cannot be revoked; the other Consol user will always have access to that copy.

Share this

Sharing your item with other users does not copy the item but rather gives them the ability to make changes to it. Type the name or email of a connected user in the input field and click on the correct Consol user. This works in the same way as selecting a connection for sending a copy.

The list of connections will queue underneath the input field. You may share the item with multiple users at the same time. When you are done adding users, click the “Share” button. If you make a mistake, or change you mind, click the “×” on the user icon before you share it.

The “Currently Shared With” field will appear beneath the input field, which keeps track of the users that you have shared the item with. You may continue to add or remove users at any point.

If at any time you decide to stop sharing your item with another user, click the “×” on the users’s icon in the “Currently Shared With” field. Eventually, other users will begin sharing items with you. If you no longer wish to view those items, open that item and remove yourself from the “Currently Shared With” field by clicking the “×” on your icon.

That’s not all

You’ve already discovered several ways to manipulate and organize your content. However, your content will be easier to use, reference, and organize once you learn how to tag it. That’s where Tutorial 6: Tagging comes in to play.