The seven default workspaces at the top left of your browser are the basis of Consol’s utility. They are permamnent and cannot be moved. That is because they represent basic content management as well as connectivity with other users and the Consol Operators. Each has a specific purpose.
Incoming content copies from other users, Consol admin messages, duplicated content, and reminders will show up in the Inbox default workspace so that you can moderate your incoming content. If you want to manually send an item to your Inbox, add the “#inbox” tag to it (Tutorial 6: Tagging); to move an item out of your inbox, add a desired workspace tag and remove the inbox tag.
The Tasks default workspace collects all of your tasks in one location. If a task is shared with you, it will appear in Tasks as well as in the Shared default workspace. The two default categories, Active and Complete, distinguish between tasks that have been marked as active or complete. You can also view all tasks at once by clicking on the “*All” default category.
Content that other users share with you will always display here. And content you share with others will also always show here (for as long as you are sharing the content); this provides an easy way to keep track of what you are sharing. You may also organize shared content and view it within your custom workspaces and categories by adding appropriate tags.
The People default workspace holds all your contact items and tracks the status of your connections with other Consol users.
The “Contacts” category will only hold your contact items.
Accepted connections with other Consol users will show in the “Connections” category. When you request a connection with another user, or another user requests a connection with you, it will show here. We explain connections in Tutorial 9: Chat and connections.
The four preceeding default workspaces (Inbox, Tasks, Shared, and People) automatically handle incoming content. When content arrives in one of these default workspaces, a numerical counter appears or updates and a separate indicator appears.
If someone shares an item with you, updates content in a shared item, sends you a copy of an item, sends you a task, sends a connection request or if you receive a message from the Consol Operators, the indicator will appear and the counter will udpdate. The counter represents the number of unread items in that workspace. The indicator exists to help catch your attention.
Don’t know what to do with an item or feel like you are finished with it? Click on the “Archive” button on an item’s pageview to send it to the Archive default workspace.
Also, orphaned items, i.e., items that lose their workspace assignment (either because they are removed from their last workspace or because the workspace was deleted), are always viewable here.
Click on the “Unarchive” button to move an item out of Archive.
The item will be returned to the workspace and category it is tagged with.
If the “Unarchive” button is disabled, try adding a workspace tag to the item first(Tutorial 4: Tagging) and then click the “Unarchive” button.
This is the collection of all of your deleted items. If you accidentally delete an item, find it in this workspace and “Undelete” it. To empty your trash default workspace, click the “Empty Trash” button.
Emptying the trash permanently deletes all items in the Trash default workspace. Be careful!
Click on “Yes, Empty Trash” to confirm, or “Cancel” if you’d like to double check your decision.
The Consol Operators desire to provide you with the best product possible. If you encounter a problem, you can communicate with us about it in the Bugs workspace. You can view all the bugs you have reported in the “My Bugs” category. You can also check on the status of bugs the Consol Operators are currently trying to fix in the Open category.
After you have filed a bug, please be patient. Filing duplicate bugs will hamper the Consol Operators’ ability to efficiently fix them. The Consol Operators take bug fixing seriously and are working diligently to improve Consol day by day.
The Calendar view
You’ve seen that you are able to schedule content items in Tutorial 4: Scheduling, which is helpful for managing your content. But without a calendar, scheduling isn’t very useful.
Tutorial 11: Calendar shows you how Consol displays your schedules in an orderly fashion.